Krajský parlament dětí a mládeže Zlínského kraje

About us (English version)

Regional Parliament of Children and Youth of Zlín Region

About the Parliament | Sessions and Operating Methods | Current presidium | History

About the Parliament

A membership in any parliament is a possibility to participate in solving current matters and issues concerning educational system, extracurricular activities, environmentalism etc. The first youth parliaments were established so that young people could participate and declare their opinions to public and politicians who hadn’t listened to them before. The Regional Parliament attempts to use the chance to hold activities, contests and educate other young people on their way to their success. We have had approximately thirty members recently who put their energy and passion into uplifting their level of living and fulfilling their ambitions. All the delegates are sent from their schools or from other parliaments that are inferior to regional parliaments (e.g. school parliaments, municipal parliaments). The members have to be in the age range of 13 – 26. The new delegates always get divided into committees according to their interests (Cultural committee, European affairs committee, Organisational committee, Environmental committee and Committee for leisure time and school issues). All these committees have their own programme of activities for an electoral term that usually begins and ends in June. Every committee has its chairperson who is elected by committee’s members. Members later announce the chairperson and inform the parliament about their plans. Our Parliament is presided by a chairperson who is elected for one term as well as other members of Presidium who give him/her a help with the control (it includes writing records from sessions, communicating and supporting members or arranging occasions). There are six members in the Presidium overall – chairperson, deputy chairperson, secretary and three other members.
Our Regional Parliament gains subsidies from Zlin region that we can place on our plans and activities which are not so expensive. However, we try to obtain subsidies from The European Union and other institutions as well as invent educational projects which would enrich young people ´ s knowledge of diverse issues (e.g. political scene, environmental matters and schooling). Since June 1st, 2008 we have got involved in a project with Slovakia which is sponsored by the European Union. Together with Slovakian parliament (Secondary Schools Student’s Council) we have been arranging assemblies and conferences with politicians who illustrate the situation on the current political scene or origins of current economic recession. They talk about their experience and the way they reached the big league politics. The project has given us enormous range of opportunities we have at this time and we are determined to fulfil them as much as possible. We would like to continue encouraging children and youth in their activities, developing their personalities and defend their rights when they are encroached. Further, we have been carrying competitions as for example “Racism” (an artistic contest emphasizing the racist matters in our society), “Festival of student’s bands” (representation of some bands from our schools on the Square of Peace), “Bata’s Zlín” (a contest about our most famous countryman whose footwear is sold all over the world and after whom is named the local university) and sports tournaments (football, volleyball,..). We are in favour of getting in touch with other youth parliaments both in the Czech Republic and abroad. Members of Parliament are also participating in the Youth Ambassador Programme.

Sessions and Operating Methods

The Parliament convenes regular sessions five times per one term. The Parliament can also call for extra sessions at the request of parliamentary deputies.
The Parliament’s internal structure and operating methods are regulated by the Standing Orders, which are passed by a majority vote of all deputies.

Current presidium

Radim Botek (predseda (at)

Deputy Chairperson:
Adam Oškera (mistopredseda (at)

Kristýna Domokošová (tajemnik (at)

Kamila Hönigová
Nikolaj Malík
Tomáš Trčka


The Parliament was established in December 2003. There was a Preliminary Committee of the Parliament between December 2003 and June 2005. Every term is divided by the Roman numerals. There are also Annual reports for first, second and third term (only Czech version is available). 

David Kolumber (2004 – 2007)
Jakub Omelka (2007 – 2008)
Filip Bimbea (2008 – 2009)
Kristýna Domokošová (2009 – 2011)
Simon Gabriel (2011)
Radim Botek (acting)

Deputy Chairpersons
Josef Sátora (2004)
Michaela Konečná (2005 – 2007)
Petr Miklík (2007 – 2008)
Jakub Miklas (2008 – 2009)
Kamila Hönigová (2009)
Jan Lerl (2009 – 2010)
Jan Bezděk (2010 – 2011)
Kristýna Domokošová (2011)
Adam Oškera (acting)

Kristýna Domokošová, tisk, přečteno 2513x